Harrows Outstanding Restaurant finalists

The finalists for the 2018 Christchurch Hospitality Awards have been announced, with familiar faces and consistently good establishments vying for top spots.

Presented by the Restaurant Association of New Zealand and lead partner Trents Wholesale, the Christchurch Hospitality Awards recognise the outstanding hospitality professionals all making a positive impact on the local hospitality scene. A large number of nominations were received from the industry across 18 categories, recognising those who work hard to achieve excellence in hospitality.

Final voting via the website is now open to the industry, closing at 5.00pm on Sunday, 19 August.

The public can also have their say and vote for their favourite establishment via the First Table People’s Choice Award. This will be awarded to an establishment that excels in customer service, consistency in food preparation and delivery, welcoming ambience and style, attention to detail and is always willing to go that extra mile.

Online voting is also via the website for both industry and the public.

The winners will be announced at the awards evening, held at Isaac Theatre Royal on Monday, 27 August. Guests will be treated to a customised menu by Eaton Drink Co and a selection of beer, wine and cocktails, and entertainment by high energy International DJ duo Sweet Mix Kids.

Tickets to the event are on sale now, to purchase or for more information regarding the awards please visit Stay connected with key updates and announcements on our Facebook page @christchurchhospitalityawards and Instagram @christchurchhospitalityawards.


2018 Christchurch Hospitality Awards Finalists

Meadow Fresh Outstanding Barista of the Year
Ed Tanner, The Anchorage
Devon Boyd, Black and White Coffee Cartel
Zhen XU (Q), Strange Bandit by Luciano
Kailim Renwick, The Birdwood

Hellers Outstanding Café of the Year
Hello Sunday
Little Pom's
Southside Social
Strange Bandit by Luciano

Jameson Outstanding Bartender of the Year
Sam 'Bambi' Barnett, Bangalore Polo Club
Gina Johns, The Last Word
Zac Goy, Red Light District

Federal Merchants & Co Outstanding Bar of the Year
Bangalore Polo Club
Boo Radley's Food & Liquor
Red Light District

ARA Institute of Canterbury Emerging Hospo Professional of the Year
Kim Proyer, Boo Radley's Food & Liquor
Aydin Coskun, Red Light District
Abbie Brown, Twenty Seven Steps

Menumate Outstanding Front of House Team of the Year
Twenty Seven Steps

GrabOne Outstanding Manager of the Year
Timothy Swete, Amazonita
James Quinn, Boo Radley's Food & Liquor
Jo Corkery, Twenty Seven Steps

Southern Hospitality Emerging Chef of the Year
Sarith Seng, O.G.B.
Jamie Jackson, Craft Embassy
Maki Matsumoto, Twenty Seven Steps

Burns & Ferrall Outstanding Chef of the Year
Sam Stewart, 5th Street
Clayton Laidlaw, Baretta
Simon Levy, Inati
Paul Howells, Twenty Seven Steps

Eaton Drink Co Pop Up Establishment of the Year
Indos Loveat
Smokey T’s
Vagabond Chefs

iMonitor Outstanding New Establishment of the Year
5th Street
Terrace Tavern
The Fermentist

OneMusic Outstanding Ambience & Design
5th Street
The Fermentist

Crombie Lockwood Outstanding Central City Establishment of the Year
Craft Embassy
Fat Eddies

Eftpos NZ Outstanding Regional Establishment of the Year
Black Estate
Pegasus Bay Winery
The Bicycle Thief

Harrows Outstanding Restaurant of the Year
5th Street
Roots Restaurant
Twenty Seven Steps

The Recruitment Network Outstanding Caterer of the Year
Eaton Drink Co
The Bespoke Chef
White Tie Catering

McCarthy Outstanding Sales Rep of the Year
Richard Page, Aitkens Hospitality
Megan O'Neill, Hop and Vine
Andrew Johnston, Procure Liquor

NZI Outstanding Supplier of the Year
Good Honest Products
Red + White Cellar