Otago wine claims top prize

Central Otago’s Maude Wines has won the New Zealand Wine of the Year Champion trophy for its Maude Pinot Noir Central Otago 2017. Warren Gibson, chairman of judges, said that the Maude Pinot Noir 2017 was a “very classy” Pinot Noir and described it as containing “loads of controlled power”.

Gibson said that the awards reflected New Zealand’s growing relationship between style, variety and region.

“This link appears far more dramatic than in past awards and suggests we’re beginning to find a true sense of place in our very youthful wine industry,” he said


Top Trophy Winners:

Best Organic White Wine

Carrick Bannockburn Riesling Central Otago 2017

Best Organic Red Wine

Carrick Bannockburn Pinot Noir Central Otago 2015

Best Single Vineyard White Wine

Isabel Estate Wild Barrique Chardonnay Marlborough 2017

JF Hillebrand New Zealand Best Single Vineyard Red Wine

Craggy Range Pinot Noir Te Muna Road Vineyard Martinborough 2016

Label and Litho Limited Best Open White Wine

Dashwood Sauvignon Blanc Marlborough 2018

QuayConnect Best Open Red Wine

Waipara Hills Pinot Noir Rosé Waipara Valley 2018

Best Wine of Provenance

Auntsfield Cob Cottage Chardonnay 2016, 2010, 2006

New Zealand Wine of the Year™ Champion Sponsored by O-I New Zealand

Maude Pinot Noir Central Otago 2017