A road winds through a vineyard in the Hawkes Bay sunset

The finalists for the 2018 Hawke’s Bay Hospitality Awards have been announced, with up and coming establishments and familiar faces vying for top spots. Presented by the Restaurant Association of New Zealand, the Hawke’s Bay Hospitality Awards recognise the outstanding hospitality professionals all making a positive impact on the local hospitality scene. A large number of nominations were received from the industry across 15 categories, recognising those who work hard to achieve excellence in hospitality.

Final Voting via the website is now open to the industry, closing at 5.00pm on Sunday, 29 July 2018.

The public can also have their say and vote for their favourite establishment via the Hawke’s Bay Today People’s Choice Award. This will be awarded to an establishment that excels in customer service, consistency in food preparation and delivery, welcoming ambience and style, attention to detail and is always willing to go that extra mile. Online voting is also via the website for both industry and the public.

The winners will be announced at the awards evening, held at the MTG Hawke’s Bay on Monday, 6 August. Guests will then be transported to Shed 2 and enjoy a ‘Mexican Fiesta’ themed evening of delicious tapas, selection of local beverage offerings and entertainment by DJ Hurricane.

Tickets to the event are on sale now, to purchase or for more information regarding the awards please visit www.hospitalityawards.co.nz/hawkesbay.

2018 Hawke’s Bay Hospitality Awards Finalists

Meadow Fresh Outstanding Barista of the Year
Aydan Apiata, Mister D Dining
Benjamin Fernandez, Georgia on Tennyson
Ryan Huthnance, Crazy Good Coffee

Bidfood Hawke’s Bay Outstanding Café of the Year
Adoro Ahuriri Café

Nova Energy Outstanding Coffee Establishment of the Year
Georgia on Tennyson
Hawthorne Coffee Roasters

Simply Squeezed Outstanding Bartender of the Year
Claudia Hintz, Loading Ramp
Dave Morris, Funbuns
Jonathan Lopez, Matisse Wine Bar

Restaurant Association of NZ Outstanding Bar of the Year
Loading Ramp
Monica Loves
Matisse Wine Bar


Unison Fibre Outstanding Local of the Year
Common Room
Rose & Shamrock
Westshore Beach Inn

GrabOne Outstanding Front of House Team of the Year
JARKs Cityside Restaurant & Bar
Loading Ramp

EIT Emerging Chef of the Year
Auden Smith, Gin Trap
Dom Michau, Diva Bar & Bistro
Dylan Olsen, Clearview Estate Winery

Service Foods Outstanding Chef of the Year
Ashley Jones, Elephant Hill
Casey MacDonald, Terrôir Restaurant, Craggy Range
Hayden Esau, Matisse Wine Bar

Shed 2 Outstanding Sales Rep of the Year
Bryce Weir, Bidfood Hawke’s Bay
David Thompson, Gourmeats
Shaye Bird, Liquor King

Clearview Estate Winery Outstanding Ambience & Design
Matisse Wine Bar

Restaurant Association of NZ Outstanding Wine & Beverage List
Emporium Eatery & Bar
Matisse Wine Bar

Restaurant Association of NZ Outstanding Winery Restaurant of the Year
Clearview Estate Winery and Restaurant
Elephant Hill
Te Awa Winery Restaurant
Terrôir Restaurant, Craggy Range

Eftpos NZ Outstanding Ethnic Restaurant of the Year
Sai Thai

OneMusic Outstanding Restaurant of the Year
Mister D
Hunger Monger