At a Pacific Nights themed ceremony held at Eden Park, the Auckland hospitality industry acknowledged the outstanding abilities of their own with the announcement of the winners of the 16th annual Lewisham Awards.  This year’s event was a sell-out, which is a tribute to the calibre of the finalists and highlights the high regard in which they are held.

The Lewisham Awards (named after Richard Lewisham, who was a pioneer of the Auckland hospitality scene) were established in 2002 with the main objective to encourage excellence in the city’s hospitality community.  With this in mind, the best in the business are honoured by their peers once a year, as the industry comes together to celebrate their success.

Finalists and winners came from a mix of both new and well-established businesses, highlighting this dynamic and ever-changing industry and showing that Auckland hospitality remains in excellent heart.

Some categories, such as Outstanding Restaurateur and Outstanding Maitre d’, were once again tightly fought, showing the depth of talent in the Auckland food and beverage scene.

2018 Lewisham Awards Winners:


  Bidfood Outstanding Cafe
Kokako Cafe
  CLYTH MACLEOD Outstanding Street Food
The Lucky Taco

Crombie Lockwood Outstanding Waiter
Loz Colwill, Apero



EuroVintage Outstanding Wine List



Hancock’s Wine, Spirit & Beer Merchants  Outstanding Bar




Hellers Outstanding Caterer
Urban Gourmet



Hospitality Association of NZ Outstanding Supplier
Hancock’s Wine, Spirit & Beer Merchants



Moana New Zealand Emerging Talent
Jami Kerrigan



Negociants Outstanding Wine Service Professional
Ismo Koski, Apero




OneMusic Outstanding Establishment



Southern Hospitality Outstanding Local



Winterhalter NZ Outstanding Chef
Che Barrington, GoGo Daddy, Chop Chop/Woodpecker Hill/Bluebreeze Inn




Pernod Ricard Outstanding Restaurateur
Sid Sahrawat, Cassia/Sidart



Restaurant Association of NZ Sales Representative
Craig MacKenzie, Sunshine Brewery



Antipodes Water Outstanding Maitre d’
Sonya Chan, White + Wong’s

Federal Merchants & Co Outstanding Bartender
Prateek Arora, Cassia

Independent Liquor Outstanding New Venue
Parasol & Swing

Meadow Fresh Outstanding Barista
Sai Okesene, Super

Moet Hennessy Outstanding Hospitality Personality
Nicola Richards, Monsoon Poon