2018 Lewisham Awards Finalists Announced

There is strong competition in the race for accolades in this year’s Lewisham Awards. Winners receive recognition as one of the top in Auckland hospitality. The Lewisham Awards recognise each part of the industry that contributes to Auckland’s vibrant and diverse dining and entertainment scene. From restaurant owners to chefs, waiters, baristas, suppliers and establishments. This year marks the 16th year that the Lewisham Awards will celebrate excellence in Auckland hospitality.

The number of nominations this year has set records, creating an exciting contest to find the winners. This year’s finalists include long established venues and personnel, joined in the top four with amazing new establishments and hospitality stars. This identifies the outstanding standard set by those at the top in the industry. Finalist voting runs from Tuesday 8th May until Tuesday 22nd May. The votes are then counted to find those selected as the top. This will ensure that Auckland’s hospitality stars will be ready to hit the red carpet on 3rd June. The industry gathers to support finalists and celebrate winners in true hospitality style at the Pacific Nights themed Awards night.

The 2018 Lewisham Awards finalists are:

Outstanding Waiter sponsored by Crombie Lockwood
Davide Lovison – Harbourside Ocean Bar & Grill
Loz Colwill – Apero
Melodee Pearce – Prego Restaurant
Nathan (NaeNae) Andrews – SPQR

Outstanding Maitre’ d sponsored by antipodes water
Mandie Greer – Harbourside Ocean Bar & Grill
Oliver Watkinson – Fish Restaurant
Sonya Chan – White + Wong’s
Matthew Aitchinson – Cassia

Outstanding Bartender sponsored by Federal Merchant & Co
Bill Scott – Longroom
Asa Campbell – My Bar
James Millar – Bedford & Soda
Prateek Arora – Cassia

Outstanding Sales Representative sponsored by Restaurant Association of NZ
Angie Atkinson – Prophets Rock
Chris Mansfield – Hancocks Wine, Spirit & Beer Merchants
Craig MacKenzie – Sunshine Brewery
Michael Thomasen – Southern Hospitality

Outstanding Wine List sponsored by EuroVintage
The Grove
Harbourside Ocean Bar & Grill
O’Connell St Bistro

Outstanding Supplier sponsored by Hospitality New Zealand
Hancocks Wine, Spirit & Beer Merchants
Tickety Boo
Red & White

Outstanding Wine Service Professional sponsored by Negociants
Ismo Koski – Apero
Meg Abbott-Walker – Lovebucket
Piers Haszard – Harbourside Ocean Bar & Grill
Benji Smith – O’Connell St Bistro

Outstanding Local sponsored by Southern Hospitality
My Bar
The Bramble
Stafford Rd

Outstanding Caterer sponsored by Hellers
Urban Gourmet
Mint Kitchen
The Lucky Taco

Outstanding Street Food sponsored by CLYTH MACLEOD
Dixie Barbeque
Judge Bao
The Lucky Taco
Double Dutch

Outstanding Bar sponsored by Hancocks Wine, Spirit & Beer Merchants
The Jefferson
Parasol & Swing

Outstanding Barista sponsored by Meadow Fresh
Abel Mok – Espresso Works
Jasmine McDermott – Burger Boy
Juno Jung – Atomic
Sai Okesene – Shakedown

Outstanding Cafe sponsored by Bidfood   
Honey Bones
Kokako Cafe

Outstanding New Venue sponsored by Independent Liquor
GoGo Daddy
The Grounds
Parasol & Swing

Outstanding Establishment sponsored by OneMusic
White + Wong’s
Coco’s Cantina

Emerging Talent sponsored by Moana New Zealand
Mackenzie Bennett – Monsoon Poon
Matthew Paton – The Northern Club
Geordie Holibar – Mea Culpa
Jami Kerrigan – Cafe Hanoi

Outstanding Chef sponsored by Winterhalter NZ
Che Barrington – GoGo Daddy/ Chop Chop/ Woodpecker Hill, The Bluebreeze Inn
Fraser McCarthy – Lillius
Mark Gillespie – Botswana Butchery
Mark Southon – O’Connell St Bistro

Outstanding Restaurateur sponsored by Pernod Ricard
Mark Wallbank – GoGo Daddy/ Chop Chop/ Woodpecker Hill/ The Bluebreeze Inn
Sid Sahrawat – Cassia/ Sidart
Christopher Upton – O’Connell St Bistro
Judith Tabron – Soul Bar & Bistro

Outstanding Hospitality Personality sponsored by Moët Hennessy
Nicola Richards – Monsoon Poon
Brandon Lela’ulu – Prego Restaurant
Sonya Chan – White + Wong’s
Jeremy Turner – cibo

Tickets are on sale now for the awards evening at Eden Park on Sunday 3rd June 2018. For more information or to purchase tickets go to www.lewishamawards.co.nz